Obsessed! 鬼迷心窍 Image

Obsessed! 鬼迷心窍

Smash HOT Original Musical by British musician Gary Sanderson with fantastic all Chinese Cast!

New Shanghai Orchestra

Thursday 4 July 2019

Bustling and booming 21st century Shanghai may be the world’s biggest and brightest city - but it still clings on to some traditional values, as 15 year-old Ling Ling knows only too well.

For her, it’s win or bust as the high school mid-term test approaches. Failure will mean her vicious tiger mum, obsessed with academic success, will withdraw her educational funding and condemn her to work in the family hot-pot restaurant for the rest of her life.

As she befriends Curtis, a rich American-Chinese boy returning to Shanghai, an opportunity opens up to save her future with a daring, dangerous plot. But just as it seems the plan will succeed, it all goes horribly wrong..

Thu 4 Jul 19:30
£12.00 – £20.00

No booking fees for any show at Joseph Rowntree Theatre.

Joseph Rowntree Theatre Box Office 01904 50 1935

Surrounding Events


Show Performer Performances
Cancelled Betty Blue Eyes York Musical Theatre Company Wed 22 May to Sat 25 May 2019
World of Dance En Pointe Dance School Sat 1 Jun to Sun 2 Jun 2019
Dancing through the Kaleidoscope Evolution Dance Fri 7 Jun 2019
Strictly The Greatest Show The Bev Jones Music Company Sat 8 Jun 2019
Songs and Stories for York Against Cancer Steve Cassidy Band Sun 9 Jun 2019
Sing, Sing, Sing Larch Music Tuition Tue 11 Jun 2019
The Tina Turner Experience Emperor Productions Fri 14 Jun 2019
Enter the Galaxies (An evening of space-themed music) Shepherd Group Brass Band Sat 15 Jun 2019
Sister Act We Are Theatre Tue 18 Jun to Wed 19 Jun 2019
Peter Pan The Musical We Are Theatre Fri 21 Jun to Sat 22 Jun 2019
Midsummer Moods The Chris Irvin Concert Orchestra Sun 23 Jun 2019
The Wizard of Oz Quirky Youth Theatre Sat 29 Jun to Sun 30 Jun 2019
Obsessed! 鬼迷心窍 New Shanghai Orchestra Thu 4 Jul 2019
Greatest Perform Perform with Emma Bassett Sat 6 Jul 2019
Dance Fever 2019 Yvonne Hoque Academy of Dance Sun 7 Jul 2019
Di and Viv and Rose Rowntree Players Thu 11 Jul to Sat 13 Jul 2019
The Wind in the Willows Ryedale Festival Sun 14 Jul 2019
It's Dance Time Celebrates 50 Years! Barbara Taylor School of Dancing Sat 20 Jul 2019
A Musical Extravaganza Joseph Rowntree Theatre Company Sun 28 Jul 2019
Penny Millionaire In Concert The Bev Jones Music Company Thu 15 Aug to Sat 17 Aug 2019