The Pirates of Penzance Image

The Pirates of Penzance

Swashbuckling adventure with tender-hearted pirates and bumbling policemen!

Jorvik Gilbert and Sullivan Company

Thursday 22 September to Saturday 24 September 2016

Join us for piratical goings-on in one of Gilbert and Sullivan’s most famous and popular hits.

As a child, Frederic was apprenticed to a band of tender-hearted pirates, by his hard-of-hearing nurse, who misheard her master’s instructions.

Today Frederic celebrates the completion of his 21st year, which means he is now free to return to society and respectability, or so he thinks.

Add into the mix a Major General who knows nothing of military strategy, his large family, and the timid police force, and you have all the ingredients for a fun-filled adventure.

Thu 22 Sep 19:30
Fri 23 Sep 19:30
Sat 24 Sep 14:30
Sat 24 Sep 19:30

Surrounding Events


Show Performer Performances
Music Night Generations Joseph Rowntree Theatre Sat 17 Sep 2016
The Pirates of Penzance Jorvik Gilbert and Sullivan Company Thu 22 Sep to Sat 24 Sep 2016
York Swings Against Cancer York Against Cancer Sun 25 Sep 2016
Music Legends Just Dance Fri 30 Sep to Sat 1 Oct 2016
"RULE THE WORLD" Take That Tribute Act Never Forget Events Sun 2 Oct to Mon 3 Oct 2016
Two Musicals - One Concert! The Bev Jones Music Company Sat 8 Oct 2016
Songs From Then Till Now Steve Cassidy Band Sun 9 Oct 2016
Shakespeare Schools Festival Shakespeare Schools Foundation Tue 11 Oct to Wed 12 Oct 2016
Cinderella Victoria Rooke School of Dance and Drama Sat 15 Oct 2016
Acorn Antiques The Musical York Musical Theatre Company Tue 18 Oct to Sat 22 Oct 2016
West Side Story York Light Youth Fri 28 Oct to Sat 5 Nov 2016