December 2009

Show Performer Performances
Dick Whittington Rowntree Players Sat 5 Dec to Sat 12 Dec 2009
Music Night Joseph Rowntree Theatre Sun 13 Dec 2009
Romeo and Juliet Oddsocks Tue 15 Dec 2009
Gala Christmas Concert Shepherd Group Brass Band Thu 17 Dec to Fri 18 Dec 2009
Christmas Music Night Joseph Rowntree Theatre Sat 19 Dec 2009
Now That's What We Call Christmas Generation Groove Sun 20 Dec 2009

Dick Whittington Image

Dick Whittington

A brand new rollicking romp of a panto

Rowntree Players

Saturday 5 December to Saturday 12 December 2009

This year why not join Rowntree Players on a journey to London and beyond in their brand new, rollicking romp of a panto – Dick Whittington.

With his belongings in a hankie and Tommy the cat by his side Dick Whittington is off to seek fortune and fame. Join us as he meets a a host of new friends; The culinary flan chef extra-ordinaire - Sarah The Cook and her lazy son Idle Jack who shows us a hilarious new way to milk his shy cow Daisy. Meet Fairy Bowbells as she attempts to stop King Rat and his furry fiends in their evil attempt to control the world. Will Alderman Fitzwarren and his daughter Alice save their rat infested Cheese Emporium from becoming another victim of the credit crunch.

With jokes, songs, drama and the odd flying cheese flan; let Rowntree Players get your festive season off to a flantastic start!

  • Saturday 5 December 2009 14:00
  • Saturday 5 December 2009 19:30
  • Sunday 6 December 2009 14:00
  • Monday 7 December 2009 19:30
  • Tuesday 8 December 2009 19:30
  • Wednesday 9 December 2009 19:30
  • Thursday 10 December 2009 19:30
  • Friday 11 December 2009 19:30
  • Saturday 12 December 2009 14:00
  • Saturday 12 December 2009 19:30

Music Night Image

Music Night

A Celebration of the popular song.

Joseph Rowntree Theatre

Sunday 13 December 2009

An evening of music with Jo Pears, Steph Crossley, George Horne and Arnold Durham. and Graham Kay

  • Sunday 13 December 2009 19:30

Romeo and Juliet Image

Romeo and Juliet

The famous love story as you have never seen it before

Oddsocks

Tuesday 15 December 2009

After our hugely successful summer offering of one of Shakespeare's classic tragedies, we are returning to this old favourite to give it the indoor winter treatment. We can almost guarantee you won't get rained on - no promises though!

Look out for some old and familiar faces, musical madness, fantastical fights, ridiculous rivalries, lustful love and awesome alliteration as Shakespeare’s romantic love story about star-crossed lovers gets the full Oddsocks treatment once again this winter. Passion, power, love, longing, murder and much much more is on the cards as two troublesome teenagers meet amidst festive celebrations as their families ancient feud escalates.

One wedding, a funeral and a less than efficient postal system combine to create comic mayhem and tragic consequences in the trademark Oddsocks style our audiences have become addicted to over recent years.

  • Tuesday 15 December 2009 19:30

Gala Christmas Concert Image

Gala Christmas Concert

Shepherd Group Brass Band

Thursday 17 December to Friday 18 December 2009

  • Thursday 17 December 2009 19:30
  • Friday 18 December 2009 19:30

Christmas Music Night Image

Christmas Music Night

A Celebration of the Christmas Songs.

Joseph Rowntree Theatre

Saturday 19 December 2009

Join the Tuesday singers in an evening of Christmas songs with Jo Pears, George Horne and Yvonne Garside.

  • Saturday 19 December 2009 19:30

Now That's What We Call Christmas Image

Now That's What We Call Christmas

Generation Groove

Sunday 20 December 2009

Another packed concert from the local woodwind and brass band with a Christmas twist.

  • Sunday 20 December 2009 19:30