March 2012

Show Performer Performances
The Rise and Fall of Little Voice Rowntree Players Wed 7 Mar to Sat 10 Mar 2012
Music Night Joseph Rowntree Theatre Sun 11 Mar 2012
Dance Express Evelyn Witcombe School of Dance Wed 14 Mar to Sat 17 Mar 2012
Singalong The Mikado Jorvik Gilbert and Sullivan Company Sun 18 Mar 2012
MPS presents WEST END HITS! YSJSU Musical Production Society Fri 23 Mar to Sat 24 Mar 2012
Summer Holiday Flying Ducks Youth Theatre Thu 29 Mar to Sat 31 Mar 2012

The Rise and Fall of Little Voice Image

The Rise and Fall of Little Voice

by Jim Cartwright, Directed by Nik Briggs

Rowntree Players

Wednesday 7 March to Saturday 10 March 2012

The Rise and Fall of Little Voice tells the story of a shy, reclusive girl, Little Voice, and her larger than life out of control mother Mari.

Desperately missing her dead father, Little Voice spends her time locked in her bedroom listening to his old record collection and perfecting astonishing impersonations of favourite divas including Shirley Bassey, Judy Garland and Marylin Monroe.

When Mari starts dating small time club agent Ray Say, she thinks he's her last chance for a better life. When Ray Say hears Little Voice sing, he thinks she's his ticket to the big time. Little Voice just wants a normal life and to be loved. Not everyone is going to get what they want.

An evening full of laughs and tears, when the worlds collide sparks are going to fly...

  • Wednesday 7 March 2012 19:30
  • Thursday 8 March 2012 19:30
  • Friday 9 March 2012 19:30
  • Saturday 10 March 2012 19:30
Music Night Image

Music Night

A Celebration Through The Decades Of The Queen's Reign

Joseph Rowntree Theatre

Sunday 11 March 2012

With music from Don Pears with the Steve Cassidy Band

Featuring songs from Jo Pears, Marie Louise Scott, George Horne and Martin Lettin

The night will be compered by Ken Humphries

Sunday Night is Music Night

  • Sunday 11 March 2012 19:30
Dance Express Image

Dance Express

Evelyn Witcombe School of Dance

Wednesday 14 March to Saturday 17 March 2012

  • Wednesday 14 March 2012 19:15
  • Thursday 15 March 2012 19:15
  • Friday 16 March 2012 19:15
  • Saturday 17 March 2012 19:15
Singalong The Mikado Image

Singalong The Mikado

Jorvik Gilbert and Sullivan Company

Sunday 18 March 2012

Whether it's the Lord High Executioner reciting his Little List, the Mikado devising punishments to fit the most heinous of crimes or the giggly girls in Three Little Maids from School there can't be many people who haven't heard and loved a song from Gilbert and Sullivan's The Mikado. A hit with audiences since it's premiere 127 years ago, this tale of love, deceptions and misunderstandings, set in Japan, where flirting is punishable by death, is returning to York this March with a twist.

Following our very well received Sing-a-long-a-Pirates of Penzance in 2011 we're delighted to be returning to The Joseph Rowntree Theatre with Singalong The Mikado, which will provide an evening of entertainment for everyone. Performed by Jorvik Gilbert and Sullivan Company, this semi staged production, with narration encourages audience participation with all the choruses. Song sheets will be provided but if you have your own score you are welcome to bring it along. An excellent way to enjoy this popular production, suitable for all ages.

  • Sunday 18 March 2012 19:30
MPS presents WEST END HITS! Image

MPS presents WEST END HITS!

Featuring the music of Footloose and more!

YSJSU Musical Production Society

Friday 23 March to Saturday 24 March 2012

YSJSU MPS present an evening of West End Musical Numbers including extracts from Footloose and much much more.

This is a change from the original programme due to cast injury

  • Friday 23 March 2012 19:30
  • Saturday 24 March 2012 15:00
  • Saturday 24 March 2012 19:30
Summer Holiday Image

Summer Holiday

A Fabulous Sixties Musical

Flying Ducks Youth Theatre

Thursday 29 March to Saturday 31 March 2012

In an age when ten bob was a small fortune, cream soda a favourite tipple and a first kiss sent you into raptures, this musical comedy will have you wanting to dance in the aisles.

Summer Holiday follows a group of teenage pals on an adventure which takes them from grey London to sunnier climes, all aboard a big red bus.

  • Thursday 29 March 2012 19:30
  • Friday 30 March 2012 19:30
  • Saturday 31 March 2012 14:30
  • Saturday 31 March 2012 19:30