Iolanthe in Concert Image

Iolanthe in Concert

A concert performance of Gilbert and Sullivan's evergreen political satire - the fairy opera.

Jorvik Gilbert and Sullivan Company

Saturday 21 April 2018

Jorvik Gilbert & Sullivan Company return to Joseph Rowntree Theatre with this concert performance of Iolanthe.

Iolanthe pits the shepherd Strephon against the House of Lords as they compete for the hand of Phyllis, a ward in Chancery. Unknown to them though Strephon has an advantage - he is half-fairy and the Fairy Queen is prepared to make life miserable for the peers in order to come to his aid.

Well known songs include Loudly Let the Trumpet Bray (the Peers' Chorus) and the Lord Chancellor's Nightmare Song in this light- hearted take on political satire - that may still have relevance today.

Sat 21 Apr 19:30

Surrounding Events


Show Performer Performances
The York Community Choir Festival 2018 Joseph Rowntree Theatre Wed 7 Mar to Sat 10 Mar 2018
High School Musical Flying Ducks Youth Theatre Thu 22 Mar to Sat 24 Mar 2018
Music Night presents The Next Generation Joseph Rowntree Theatre Sun 25 Mar 2018
Advertising Space Generation Groove Sat 7 Apr 2018
Bedroom Farce Rowntree Players Thu 12 Apr to Sat 14 Apr 2018
70th Anniversary Family Proms Celebration York Light Orchestra Sun 15 Apr 2018
The York Gospel Choir Celebration Promoted by Rowley & Sons Family Funeral Services Fri 20 Apr 2018
Iolanthe in Concert Jorvik Gilbert and Sullivan Company Sat 21 Apr 2018
Oliver! NE Musicals YORK Wed 25 Apr to Sat 28 Apr 2018
Footloose York St. John Musical Production Society Thu 3 May to Sat 5 May 2018
Steve Cassidy Band and Friends Steve Cassidy Band Sun 6 May 2018
In The Spotlight York St John Dance Fri 11 May 2018
Light Music for Springtime The Chris Irvin Concert Orchestra Sat 12 May 2018
Fiddler on the Roof The Bev Jones Music Company Wed 23 May to Sat 26 May 2018
En Pointe presents Alice in Wonderland En Pointe Classical Dance School Sat 2 Jun to Sun 3 Jun 2018