Barnum Image

Barnum

Roll up, roll up, don't miss "The Greatest Show on Earth"!

York Light Youth

Friday 3 November to Saturday 11 November 2017

"Barnum's the name, P.T. Barnum. And I want to tell you that tonight you are going to see - bar none - every sight, wonder and miracle that name stands for"

Here is the show that traces the career of Phineas Taylor Barnum, America's greatest showman, "The Prince of Humbug" from 1835 to 1881, the year he joined with James A Bailey to form "The Greatest Show on Earth".

Despite the objections of his wife, Chairy, Barnum attempts to create a show in which the main attractions are the freaks of society - the oldest woman alive, Joice Heth, the smallest man in the world, Tom Thumb; he builds his American Museum - and falls for the charms of the glamorous Swedish opera singer, Jenny Lind. Eventually, to appease Chairy, Barnum agrees to give up the show and start a normal life, lived in black & white rather than the colour he craves.

But in the end Barnum returns to the circus business in grand fashion by forming a partnership with James A Bailey - and the start of a circus tradition, which lasts until May 2017, just as York Light Youth started their rehearsals for "Barnum".

The score includes "There's a Sucker Born Ev'ry Minute"; "One Brick At a Time"; "The Colors of my Life"; "Black and White" and, of course, "Come Follow the Band".

Weekday Family Ticket: £55 (2 adult,2 children), £53 (1 Adult +3 Children)

Sat Family Ticket: £60 (2 Adults, 2 Children), £56 (1 Adult, 3 Children)

Fri 3 Nov 19:30
£14.00 – £16.00
Sat 4 Nov 14:30
£15.00 – £18.00
Sat 4 Nov 19:30
£15.00 – £18.00
Wed 8 Nov 19:30
£14.00 – £16.00
Thu 9 Nov 19:30
£14.00 – £16.00
Fri 10 Nov 19:30
£14.00 – £16.00
Sat 11 Nov 14:30
£15.00 – £18.00
Sat 11 Nov 19:30
£15.00 – £18.00

No booking fees for any show at Joseph Rowntree Theatre.

Joseph Rowntree Theatre Box Office 01904 50 1935

Surrounding Events


Show Performer Performances
York Musicals Against Cancer York Against Cancer Sat 30 Sep 2017
York Swings Against Cancer York Against Cancer Sun 1 Oct 2017
The American Dream The Bev Jones Music Company Sat 7 Oct 2017
Steve Cassidy Band and Friends Steve Cassidy Band Sun 8 Oct 2017
The Wicked Wizard of Oz Victoria Rooke School of Dance and Drama Sat 14 Oct 2017
Something Wonderful York Musical Theatre Company Wed 18 Oct to Sat 21 Oct 2017
The York Gospel Choir Celebration Rowley & Sons Family Funeral Services Sun 22 Oct 2017
Cancelled Flawless Perform Perform with Emma Bassett Sat 28 Oct 2017
Tutti Amici - Fundraising with Friends Tutti Amici Tue 7 Nov 2017
Barnum York Light Youth Fri 3 Nov to Sat 11 Nov 2017
The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe NE Musicals YORK Wed 15 Nov to Sat 18 Nov 2017
Shakespeare Schools Festival Shakespeare Schools Foundation Tue 21 Nov to Wed 22 Nov 2017
Disney's My Son Pinocchio JR and Into The Woods JR Tom Ball Live Sun 26 Nov 2017
Christmas Swing and Song York Against Cancer Sat 2 Dec 2017
Aladdin Rowntree Players Sat 9 Dec to Sat 16 Dec 2017
Music Night presents A Christmas Cocktail Joseph Rowntree Theatre Sun 17 Dec 2017
Gala Christmas Concert Shepherd Group Brass Band Fri 22 Dec to Sat 23 Dec 2017