October 2007

Show Performer Performances
Sly Fox Rowntree Players Thu 4 Oct to Sat 6 Oct 2007
Showtime Spectacular 2 The Northern Musical Theatre Company Tue 9 Oct to Sat 13 Oct 2007
Brassed Off York Stage Musicals Mon 22 Oct to Sat 27 Oct 2007
Fanfare In Concert Fanfare Sun 28 Oct 2007

Sly Fox Image

Sly Fox

The UK Premiere of Larry Gelbart's modern adaptation of the classic Volpone

Rowntree Players

Thursday 4 October to Saturday 6 October 2007

Foxwell J Sly is a scheming rapacious miser bent on extracting the fortunes from a trio of rich greedy opportunists. Pretending he is at death's door, Sly says he will name each of the three as his sole heir. The depths the trio will plumb to acquire Sly's fortune know no bounds - one goes as far as to disinherit his only son, another offers his wife to the lecherous Sly.

Thu 4 Oct 19:30
Fri 5 Oct 19:30
Sat 6 Oct 19:30
Showtime Spectacular 2 Image

Showtime Spectacular 2

presented by Bev Jones

The Northern Musical Theatre Company

Tuesday 9 October to Saturday 13 October 2007

Following last years successful Showtime Spectacular at The Joseph Rowntree Theatre, and his recent highly acclaimed production of Les Miserables at The Grand Opera House, Bev Jones' Northern Musical Theatre Company brings you a sparkling, glittering evening of Song and Dance from all your favourite musicals and top entertainers! With an ensemble twice the size of last year, it features Miss Saigon, The Sound of Music, Andrew Lloyd Webber, Fame, Latino Carnival and the exhilarating Bollywood extravaganza, all under the guidance of the "best in the business" Mr Bev Jones.

Let the magical world of "showbiz" embrace your emotions!

Tue 9 Oct 19:30
Wed 10 Oct 19:30
Thu 11 Oct 19:30
Fri 12 Oct 19:30
Sat 13 Oct 14:30
Sat 13 Oct 19:30
Brassed Off Image

Brassed Off

Featuring The Shepherd Group Brass Band

York Stage Musicals

Monday 22 October to Saturday 27 October 2007

Don’t let the b******s get you down!

Grimley, South Yorkshire has been mining coal for over 100 years, but as the mine faces closure so does the much loved and much needed Grimley Colliery Band. Life for the miners and band members looks bleak. Band leader Danny urges them to stick with it and take part in the National Brass Band Contest and with the arrival of stunning flugelhorn player, Gloria, they agree. But as the competition draws close so does the fate of the mine and the frictions and stresses of being on the picket line become all too evident. And whose side is Gloria on anyway?

Mon 22 Oct 19:30
Tue 23 Oct 19:30
Wed 24 Oct 19:30
Thu 25 Oct 19:30
Fri 26 Oct 19:30
Sat 27 Oct 14:30
Sat 27 Oct 19:30
Fanfare In Concert Image

Fanfare In Concert

with Caroline Parker

Fanfare

Sunday 28 October 2007

Brass music to suit all ages, including show tunes, modern and popular. Directed by Ken Stamp.

Sun 28 Oct 19:30