April 2009


Show Performer Performances
Hood the Musical Flying Ducks Youth Theatre Thu 2 Apr to Sat 4 Apr 2009
The Railway Children NE Musicals YORK Tue 21 Apr to Sat 25 Apr 2009
The History Boys York Stage Musicals Tue 28 Apr to Sat 2 May 2009

Hood the Musical Image

Hood the Musical

The legend lives on in this musical inspired by folk hero, Robin Hood

Flying Ducks Youth Theatre

Thursday 2 April to Saturday 4 April 2009

The Youth Theatre Premiere of the famous fable of Robin Hood with an entertaining mixture of comedy, romance and dramatic fight scenes.

Join Robin, the Sheriff of Nottingham, Maid Marion and Friar Tuck as they steal from the rich to give to the poor and entertain the whole family.

Thu 2 Apr 19:30
Fri 3 Apr 19:30
Sat 4 Apr 14:30
Sat 4 Apr 19:30
The Railway Children Image

The Railway Children

A superb adaptation for the musical stage of E. Nesbit’s quintessentially English classic

NE Musicals YORK

Tuesday 21 April to Saturday 25 April 2009

An idyllic Edwardian Christmas in London is interrupted by a knock at the door and a family’s life is changed forever. Father is wrongfully arrested and Mother and the three children, Roberta, Peter and Phyllis, are forced to move to Yorkshire. Discovering a railway near their new house is just the beginning of a series of adventures set over one long summer.

Local children take the parts of the Perks young family and of course the Railway Children themselves, with Emma Craggs, of Tadcaster Grammar School, returning to a principle role to play Bobbie (following her successful portrayal of the title role in Annie) and 12 year old William Hartley and 10 year old Gabrielle Richardson (both of St Olaves School), as her brother and sister, Peter and Phyllis under the skilful direction of Ann McCreadie, the show’s Producer.

This endurable story, which has been enjoyed by generations of families, is brought to life in a new dimension by heartfelt ballads, stirring choral numbers and tuneful melodies

Tue 21 Apr 19:30
Wed 22 Apr 19:30
Thu 23 Apr 19:30
Fri 24 Apr 19:30
Sat 25 Apr 19:30
The History Boys Image

The History Boys

by Alan Bennett. A YORK STAGE PREMIERE

York Stage Musicals

Tuesday 28 April to Saturday 2 May 2009

An unruly bunch of bright, funny sixth-form boys in pursuit of sex, sport and a place at university. A maverick English teacher at odds with the young and shrewd supply teacher. A headmaster obsessed with results and a history teacher who thinks he's a fool. In Alan Bennett's award winning play, staff-room rivalry and the anarchy of adolescence provoke insistent questions about history and how you teach it; about education and its purpose.

The History Boys is one of the finest plays Bennett has ever written, packed with superb one-liners. A play of depth as well as dazzle, intensely moving as well as thought-provoking and funny.

The History Boys premiered at The National Theatre in May 2004.
The History Boys was released as a film in 2006.

Tue 28 Apr 19:30
Wed 29 Apr 19:30
Thu 30 Apr 19:30
Fri 1 May 19:30
Sat 2 May 14:30
Sat 2 May 19:30