December 2013

Show Performer Performances
Jack And The Beanstalk Rowntree Players Sat 7 Dec to Sat 14 Dec 2013
Christmas Music Night Joseph Rowntree Theatre Sun 15 Dec 2013
Dare to Dream Album Preview Tour Rebecca Newman - The People's Soprano Wed 18 Dec 2013
Gala Christmas Concert Shepherd Group Brass Band Fri 20 Dec to Sat 21 Dec 2013

Jack And The Beanstalk Image

Jack And The Beanstalk

A brand new rollicking romp of a panto!

Rowntree Players

Saturday 7 December to Saturday 14 December 2013

This summer, as you kick back and enjoy the BBQ summer, spare a little thought for the Power family.

Not only are they contending with a Giant, intent on devouring the entire population, but the warm spell has left them without wind - and the sails on their Windmill aren't going round. But never fear, Sola, Jack's little brother has a plan for wind generation - that's right- a bean based diet is the way forward. And who knows, if they can convince the Giant to turn veggie then everyone's problems could be solved!

With gags galore, big music and dance numbers and traditional slapstick Rowntree Players are once again promising a brand new rollicking romp of a panto!

Sat 7 Dec 14:00
Sat 7 Dec 19:30
Sun 8 Dec 14:00
Mon 9 Dec 19:30
Tue 10 Dec 19:30
Wed 11 Dec 19:30
Thu 12 Dec 19:30
Fri 13 Dec 19:30
Sat 14 Dec 14:00
Sat 14 Dec 19:30
Christmas Music Night Image

Christmas Music Night

Join us for an evening of Christmas Songs

Joseph Rowntree Theatre

Sunday 15 December 2013

A selection of spiritual and secular Christmas music, including favourite carols. Featuring the Tuesday Singers and regular soloists Jo Pears, George Horne and Yvonne Garside.

Musical Director: Don Pears

Sun 15 Dec 19:30
Dare to Dream Album Preview Tour Image

Dare to Dream Album Preview Tour

Rebecca Newman - The People's Soprano

Wednesday 18 December 2013

Dubbed The People's Soprano by fans, colleagues and the media, local singer Rebecca Newman is one of the most exciting classical-crossover acts the UK has seen for a long time! As an indie artist Rebecca has already sold over 15,000 albums, headlined her own twenty date UK tour, and appeared on ITV1, BBC One and BBC Radio. This year she has performed with the much-loved Aled Jones and international star tenor Russell Watson. In October 2013 she sang the national anthem for the RFL World Cup live on SKY TV in front of millions of viewers.

Rebecca’s new album, featuring the City of Prague Philharmonic Orchestra, is due out in February, featuring an exciting mix of classical and modern songs, including material Rebecca has written herself, like the title track Dare to Dream. It will also feature a special collaboration with Classical BRIT Award Winners BLAKE.

This concert will showcase the forthcoming album and include some festive favourites to get you in the mood for Christmas, including her new Christmas single.

Wed 18 Dec 19:30
Gala Christmas Concert Image

Gala Christmas Concert

Shepherd Group Brass Band

Friday 20 December to Saturday 21 December 2013

Join all four of the Shepherd Group Brass Bands in their annual Christmas concert featuring many old favourites.

Early booking is essential for this very popular concert.

Fri 20 Dec 19:30
Sat 21 Dec 19:30