November 2016


Show Performer Performances
West Side Story York Light Youth Fri 28 Oct to Sat 5 Nov 2016
Fiddler on the Roof NE Musicals YORK Wed 9 Nov to Sat 12 Nov 2016
York Scout & Guide Show 2016: Let's Celebrate! York Scouts and Guides Tue 22 Nov to Sat 26 Nov 2016
The Hunchback of Notre Dame Rowntree Players Sat 3 Dec to Sat 10 Dec 2016

West Side Story Image

West Side Story

Could it be, yes it could, something's coming, something good…

York Light Youth

Friday 28 October to Saturday 5 November 2016

Brought to you by York Light Youth, West Side Story is the award-winning adaptation of the classic romantic tragedy, Romeo and Juliet.

Two warring New York City gangs - the American ‘Jets’, led by Riff, and the Puerto Rican ‘Sharks’, led by Bernardo - replace Shakespeare’s feuding families. Their hatred has reached the point where neither can tolerate the other on account of their cultural differences. When Riff's best friend (and former Jet), Tony, and Bernardo's younger sister, Maria, meet at a dance, they instantly fall in love. Maria and Tony begin meeting in secret, planning to run away. In the meantime the Jets challenge the Sharks to a rumble; whoever wins gains control of the streets. Maria sends Tony to stop it, hoping to end the violence, but her plan goes terribly wrong. After this, can Maria and Tony have the happily-ever-after they have dreamed about?

This fantastic show will be performed by the talented young cast of York Light Youth, whose most recent production was Cats in October 2015. Many of our performers from previous shows return, along with some new faces.

Fri 28 Oct 19:30
Sat 29 Oct 14:30
Sat 29 Oct 19:30
Wed 2 Nov 19:30
Thu 3 Nov 19:30
Fri 4 Nov 19:30
Sat 5 Nov 14:30
Sat 5 Nov 19:30
Fiddler on the Roof Image

Fiddler on the Roof

A story of tradition, faith and love: an amazing musical!

NE Musicals YORK

Wednesday 9 November to Saturday 12 November 2016

Fiddler on the Roof is a story based on traditions, set against in early 20th century Russia.

A milkman called Tevye lives a very simple life in the small village of Anatevka. When three of his five daughters rebel against the traditions of arranged marriages and decide to take matters into their own hands, mayhem unfolds...

Blending the family’s struggle as it is torn apart with some extremely funny moments, and a great uplifting ending, you’ll be singing these songs all the way home.

Wed 9 Nov 19:30
Thu 10 Nov 19:30
Fri 11 Nov 19:30
Sat 12 Nov 14:30
Sat 12 Nov 19:30
York Scout & Guide Show 2016: Let's Celebrate! Image

York Scout & Guide Show 2016: Let's Celebrate!

A traditional Gang Show extravaganza of singing, dancing and sketches.

York Scouts and Guides

Tuesday 22 November to Saturday 26 November 2016

This year, one of the longest-running Gang Shows in the country celebrates 100 years of Cub Scouts and Guide Senior Section as well as 30 years of Beaver Scouts. Performed by members of the Scout and Guide movements from York and the surrounding area, the show follows the great tradition of Gang Show, featuring an entertaining mix of singing, dancing and sketches.

Tue 22 Nov 19:15
Wed 23 Nov 19:15
Thu 24 Nov 19:15
Fri 25 Nov 19:15
Sat 26 Nov 14:00
Sat 26 Nov 19:15
The Hunchback of Notre Dame Image

The Hunchback of Notre Dame

A brand new rollicking romp of a panto!

Rowntree Players

Saturday 3 December to Saturday 10 December 2016

Governor LeTrump is determined to cast his menacing spell over the city of Paris but with the circus in town, his evil plans slowly begin to unravel. Fortune teller Celia Fate and her son Summer are spreading an air of anarchy among the citizens. Celia’s daughter Esmerelda is proving to be quite a distraction and now even Quasimodo is causing problems every time he sneaks out of the cathedral.

Will LeTrump fine the Court of Miracles? Will Esmerelda get her man? Can Quasimodo escape to save the day?

There’s only one way to find out.

With song, dance, slapstick silliness and all the trappings of a traditional family pantomime you’d be mad to miss it!

Sat 3 Dec 14:00
Sat 3 Dec 19:30
Sun 4 Dec 14:00
Mon 5 Dec 19:30
Tue 6 Dec 19:30
Wed 7 Dec 19:30
Thu 8 Dec 19:30
Fri 9 Dec 19:30
Sat 10 Dec 14:00
Sat 10 Dec 19:30